Mark Newnham wins VC Baracchi 30-mile championship

A helping hand for Newnham from Norman Harlow of G Yarmouth CC

Mark Newnham won Velo Club Baracchi’s 30-mile championship with the overall fastest ride in Gt Yarmouth CC’s club time trial on Sunday.

Newnham rode the challenging sporting two-and-a-bit-laps Somerleyton circuit (that includes the road through Somerleyton to Blundeston corner and thence to Bradwell through Lound, turning onto the A143 to St Olaves) in 1-18:05.

The second-fastest was Gt Yarmouth rider Phil Denby who won their Pendle Cup in 1-18:32.


Third equal were VCB’s Pat Harbord and GYCC’s Harley Matthews in 1-21:18 and the other VCB times were Chris Womack 1-22:06, John Swanbury 1-23:46, Ali Banks 1-23:58, Steve Summons 1-30:57 and Tracy Prewer 1-37:04.


Tracy Prewer


Harbord was a little disappointed with his time, observing that you know you are going slowly when you don’t have to slow down for the corners!

However it was a really pleasant sunny morning that did not cloud over until later and the wind was quite light, so a good time was had by all.

Chris Womack


Womack had ridden the day before in the VTTA 25-mile Championship on the A14 and A11 roads, turning at Four Went Ways roundabout.

There was a head to side strong wind which made the outward stretch very pushy but with the advantage of a pleasing tail wind to help Womack speed back again.

His time was a creditable 1.02:26.  The fastest rider was Kevin Tye of Datateam Allstars with 49:54 and the fastest lady was Kate Bosley Abellio of SFA Racing Team with 1-00:31.

Gary Matthews of VCB achieved 1-05:35 in the Plomesgate CC open 25-mile time trial, also on a sporting course, with some undulations and twisty sections.  Richard Allen’s time was 1-18:52, achieved without tri-bars.  The winner was Mark Arnold (TeamPedalRevolution) in an impressive  57:55.

With no Godric CC event last week, Swanbury decided to try the Diss & District CC 25-mile club time trial from Bressingham to the Thetford roundabout and back.  One optimist thought it might stay dry but the rain started as the event commenced and it rained solidly throughout. After the event Swanbury’s skinsuit came out of the washing machine much drier than it went in.

The full result was Ian Robertson (Tri Anglia) 1-00:08, Chris Beck (Tri Anglia) 1-01:47, Dale Sturman (West Suffolk Wheelers) 1-02:22, Swanbury 1-08:13, John Musgrove (Diss) 1-14:56, Ed Wootton (Diss) 1-15:56 and Ashley Thompson (Diss) 1-22:03.

There was no Gt Yarmouth CC 10 last week because of rain but the top three riders the previous week were Stuart Pryce of Strada Sport 22:39, Harley Matthews (GYCC) 24:56 and James Trenchard (Godric CC) 26:15.  VCB rider Jenny Anderson achieved 30:05.